CelticMKE Websites

Irish Music on 78rpm Discs

print this page Share This Page

The Four Provinces: The First of May (hornpipes)

This week's track come from a 78rpm disc recorded by the Four Provinces which included John McCormick on fiddle, Jacob Thomas on piccolo, and Edward Lee on piano. The tunes are listed as The First of May/Molly MacAlpine/Slieve Gorm. Molly MacAlpine seems to be a version of Poll Ha'Penny and Slieve Gorm is Boys of Bluehill.

Recorded in 1924 and released on the Vocalion label (14931). From the Ted McGraw Collection, McGraw 78 00-858.

Performers: The Four Provinces, John McCormic, Jacob Thomas, and Edward Lee
Record Label and Issue Number: Vocalion 14931
Year: 1924
Collection: Ted McGraw Collection
WIMA ID: McGraw 78 00-858

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System